Faces

Earlier this year I decided to do a series of face shots of insects. The idea was to make the insect look more human in scale, not the tiny creatures they really are. Eye contact is important in the group – the insect looks directly at the viewer or in a three-quarters profile. I avoided extreme closeups, most of the images are head-and-shoulders or the full insect. The series is called Insect faces, and it’s in the Projects section of my web site. Click the image below to go to the series:

faces2.jpg

Some of them are posted here already. It’s a work-in-progress – I’ll keep adding to this group over time. There’s a lot to do with this kind of portrait!

5 thoughts on “Faces

  1. WOW..these pictures are Beautiful…I sespecially love the little guy in the bottom right …he’s sooo cute. never saw one so close up. you take great close up shots..

  2. Tom,
    I have just read the comment you posted on my Nature’s Paint Box blog about the swarms of butterflies which then led me to your website. I thought that my photography was going well until I saw your photographs – they are simply stunning , sharp and beautifully composed. You are a real pro! Kind regards, Lesley

Leave a Reply

