Spring comes and goes

This weekend it was spring – the snow melted, the temperatures went into the 50s F, and I found snowdrops blooming. They must have come up under the snow. Iwas warm enough for the first butterflies, but when I got to a likely hilltop close to where I live, the sun went behind the clouds – no butterflies. I found an lichen patch on a rock to check out, and there were a number of interesting bugs. Here’s an ant I found wandering through the lichen:

img_1184-1ants

My first bug of the season – just a few millimeters long. Sunday was sunnier and I found a butterfly, an Eastern Comma – a very early sighting. Today it snowed again, three inches of wet slush. That’s March!

One thought on “Spring comes and goes

Leave a Reply

