Hepatica

This weekend I visited Ithaca, NY. I hit the trails at Six Mile Creek and Buttermilk Falls State Park looking for wildflowers and waterfalls. I had better luck with wildflowers than waterfalls:

img_2393-1-3hepatica

The trails at Butterfmilk Falls State Park were filled with hepatica in different colors: white, pink, and blue. That was exciting or me – hepatica isn’t a native to my part of Massachusetts, I know it only from Garden in the Woods, a wildflower arboretum. I also saw coltsfoot at Six Mile Creek, which I found out later is a listed invasive species.

I saw beautiful waterfalls, but the light wasn’t right. I should be going back, I’ll explore more.

5 thoughts on “Hepatica

Leave a Reply

