Harris’s Checkerspot

This was the target species for a butterfly walk I took yesterday. An uncommon butterfly, you have to go to particular spots to find them:

IMG_4923-1-3harris

I saw lots of skippers (Least skipper, Hobomok skipper, Cloudywings, Silver spotted skipper) and summer nymphalids (Viceroy, American Lady). And an unusual bug I’ll post later…

In Massachusetts, Harris’s checkerspot is local to sunny wet meadow areas containing the caterpillar host plant, flat-topped white aster. If you look at range charts, you’ll see it’s widely distributed in the northeast and central areas, but you’ll only find it in the right habitat. Not a likely backyard butterfly.

4 thoughts on “Harris’s Checkerspot

  1. Very nice, Tom. I keep saying that I want to go out and look for butterflies but I don’t do it. Maybe I’ll go out tonight with the 300 mm and see what I can come up with. Your butterfly images are superb!

  2. Hi Thomas,
    This is a very sharp picture and I love the bokeh and background. You captured it very weel, i’m impressed by the quality of this shot.

Leave a Reply

