Watkins Glen

A waterfall image from my last trip to the Ithaca area, two falls in the narrow Watkins Glen gorge:

IMG_6970-1watkinsBW

This looks lonely and wild, but it’s a high traffic area.  Lots of people walk through the gorge on a path built into the rock, out of sight, on the left.  The worst part is that passersby throw coins into the stream, as if it were a fountain in a city park.  Another beautiful place, but not as unspoiled as Lucifer Falls in Ithaca. I’ll go back in a few weeks, with luck I’ll visit a few new falls.

5 thoughts on “Watkins Glen

  1. Beautifully captured Tom. I really like the b/w treatment as well. I am finding myself enjoying waterfalls more and more. After this past weekend’s foray into the Delaware Water Gap, I am ready to head back for more Falls in Fall!

  2. Very serene and quite beautiful Tom. This works very well in B&W. I love the structural features of these falls. I would love to see them myself someday.

Leave a Reply

