California Bobcat

On my California trip, I took a hike down the Tennessee Valley Trail in the Marin Headlands. I was scouting out the area in late afternoon, gawking at the pretty hills, on my way to a beach, Tennessee Cove, when I ran into this creature:

IMG_9115-1-4bobcat

In the East, I never run into wildlife like this at the right time. Foxes run by me in the woods when I have a closeup lens on my camera, or I see a fisher in bad setting in low light.  Not so in this case – this animal was a quite willing to let me watch it at length in the late afternoon shadows.

11 thoughts on “California Bobcat

  1. Must have been a great experience. Wonderful image, Tom. I’m usually, make that always, in the same boat you mentioned – wrong lens at the wrong time. Very frustrating when that happens.

  2. What a gorgeous picture of a spectacular species. We have a lot bobcats in NWMO, but I’ve only taken a few lousy photos, that certainly didn’t do them justice likes yours has done.

Leave a Reply

