Snowflakes and a leaf

A flurry of snowflakes with a beech leaf on clear, dark stream ice:

Here’s the story for this image. It was a cold morning, so I had high hopes for good stream ice. There was a slight wispy flurry of snow – but I decided I didn’t want to try snow flakes because a breeze was blowing. When I got to the stream, I found one interesting patch of geometrical ice, then went on to check other stretches of the stream for  something more interesting. I found a patch of clear dark ice – the least interesting for crystalline patterns. But then I looked again, and  saw the dark ice was a beautiful setting for the small amount of snow falling, and used this leaf as the center, surrounded by flakes. This is just one image of a pile I did through changing light and amounts of snow.

After just a few minutes, the sky cleared to bright blue, and the soft light I needed was gone. All the clouds were gone, it was hard to imagine that it had been snowing.

2 thoughts on “Snowflakes and a leaf

Leave a Reply

