Morning at Cataract Creek

I made another visit to the Cataract Trail near Mt Tamalpais in Marin County (CA):

The other times I’ve hiked in, I’ve started at the bottom, which has the advantage of being shadowy at the beginning, so the light is softer. This time I thought I’d hike in from the top, to get in earlier in the day and avoid a road that only opens at 9AM. I forgot to factor in the two miles or so hike in, so the sun was already coming in to the creek ravine when I got to the falls. I like the look – what do you think?

8 thoughts on “Morning at Cataract Creek

    • Thanks! You were there a week or two after me, I see. The first sun to make it into the ravine has a dramatic look, especially given the dynamic range that cameras can capture. Our eyes are much better – we see more detail in the dark areas.

Leave a Reply

