Desert Bluebell

Winter can have glorious color – sunsets with contrasting blue and red – but otherwise, black, white, and brown predominate. When it starts getting to me, I give in and go to a greenhouse for color and flowers. This time I went to the greenhouses at Wellesley College.

_MG_9144-sonoran-blue

There were quite a few pots of this flower; one was labeled “Sonoran wildflower”. My guess is that it’s Phacelia campanularia, Desert bluebell. I have a followup image for this one, much closer, that I’ll post soon. Some year I’ll make it to the desert to see these in the field…

13 thoughts on “Desert Bluebell

  1. I love your work! I am going to share your blog with my Montessori photographers. They all have a wordpress blog and are beginning a photo editing unit. Here is our class blog: artspilling.wordpress.com

  2. Hello Mr. Whelan – your work is beautiful! I found a flower of yours on the internet and would very much like to use it for a new hospice company. Is that possible? If so, how do we proceed?

Leave a Reply

