Bloodroot

A bloodroot bloom from last weekend:


This is from a location fairly close to where I live. It’s a spot I’ve been visiting for a .number of years. Finding the first bloodroot there is a “it’s really spring” moment. I wanted to find an open flower, but it was a cloudy day, and bloodroot stays closed until there’s sun. Something about this flower intrigued me. I could see the yellow of the anthers through the petals, like a hint of sun through clouds. A trick of the lighting from above, I suppose. There should be a few more by now, with some sun I’ll get my wish of finding an open one.

12 thoughts on “Bloodroot

  1. As much as I’ve enjoyed seeing these flowers open in the past, I really like this view. I like buds generally, and this one’s gorgeous. The texture of the petals is especially nice.

    • I spent some time looking for bloodroot in this location without finding anything, Then I found this one, and almost passed it by because it wasn’t open. But when I looked at it in my viewfinder, I was entranced.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.